Month 3: Growing Together – Day 73

Compare to Sister’s Blog  Month 3:  Traveling and Night Pottying

5/6 Day 73 Su:   As expected it was a tough night.  I had momsomnia – the condition experienced by moms when everyone in the house is asleep except for them and then just as she finally drifts off to sleep someone needs something.    Needless to say I didn’t get a lot of sleep.   Mini Moose didn’t poop yesterday or today so who knows when the poo bomb is going to go off.   The day was hit and miss.   I caught some, offered some to early and missed, and offered to late for others.       As I always emphasize, the important thing is the attempt.   EC is now a daily habit that I don’t need to think about much.  I’ve even experienced the “phantom pee” the other day which I forgot to mention.  I was sure my entire lap was wet when it happened and sure enough my boy had to have a pee.   One less wet prefold is one step closer to the day I put them away for good.

It is a good point I think to review my personel EC philosophies:

A.  To remember to adapt as baby grows and changes
B. To use diapers as mess managemet, never as a portable toilet
C. To put diapers away before “consistent signals”; one has nothing to do with the other
D.  To remember that signals will change as baby grows in ability to communicate in different ways
E.  Toddlers appreciate privacy and respect for autonomy
F. Short term perceived convenience should never trump the dignity of eliminating in the right place
G.  Milestones are positive learning experiences, not regression
H.  Going to the bathroom should be a nonchalant activity we do every day not a marathon sitting session
I.  Babies are always communicating even if we aren’t listening

Leave a Reply

