Month 4: You Catch Some You Miss Some – Day 110

Compare to Sister’s Blog  Month 4:  The Month of Misses

Onesie and prefold (no cover) for an outing.

6/10 Day 110 T:    From what I gather, Mini Moose wakes every 3 hours or so at night.  I usually don’t look at the clock to count, because when you do that you leave your animal brain.  You don’t want to do that because it makes time drag because you are focused on time rather than doing things on autopilot.  It’s like watching water boil.   You can either waste time and energy watching it boil, or do something else so that it seems as if time has passed quickly.     I learned that wake ups seem longer and more frequent when I look at the clock, but seem shorter and less clear as to number when I don’t.

Anyway, I am still often too groggy and take too long to rouse when Mini Moose wakes up to pee.  However, last night there are three wakeups I clearly remember him being dry.   The first two I caught — one he released right away, and the other it took a little fussing to relax — but the third one I remember feeling for the flat and noting it was dry at the same time he latched to nurse.  I noted it, made plans to take care of it and…fell asleep.   Heh.   Oh, well!   The point is that he was waiting for me to wake up!

My night EC practice is pretty flexible.   I do not use a diaper cover so that I can feel immediately if there is a situation.  I have Mini Moose on top of a wee pad and we use flats at night because they do not shift when he kicks and moves and that is important for keeping the Wee Willie Winkie from spritzing everywhere.    I am already waking to nurse and I have never desired to pad a diaper for all night use.    I wouldn’t want to be left in depends all night and when I was menstruating (thank you breastfeeding induced amenorrea) I even got up in the middle of the night to change.      So for me, I’d be changing a diaper anyway so it saves me no time to not do it.      This misses might make you think I’d be discouraged, but that’s not how I see it.   I know that because I am still aware at night, I will notice immediately when his holding power matures and he will still remain aware when he goes at night which is what I want.    I am one of the few people, I guess, who does not desire a baby to sleep more than 5 hours at most.  I want him to wake up to take care of his needs and to learn to resume sleep after doing so if he is still tired.

As for the rest of our day, he was dry for our outing, peed at destination, and we almost made it back home with a dry diaper. When we got home he was dry, but peed before I could take care of the situation.   And he had some words to say about that.     Then I put him on the floor while I put groceries away and I noted a strange tone to his fussing and found that he belly peed and was distressed.      We had another catch, no poops showed up either, but the rest of the evening were misses due to us all being tired.   That was Itty Bitty’s fault, she woke up three hours earlier than usual.

Leave a Reply

