Month 8: Climbing and Pulling Mischief – Day 225

Compare to Sister’s Blog:  Month 8:  Monkey Climbing and Training Pants

The last really nice day of the season.

10/5 Day 225 F:   All misses last night and Itty Bitty had another bad dream.  All around I’m quite drained.     I invited several moms and kids to a playdate, but it turned out only one came — our newest friend M and her two girls S. who is 3 1/2 and A. who is 15 months.   I was disappointed that more didn’t come, but on the other hand Itty Bitty slept until 10:30AM!  The real shocker was at 7:30 AM when she woke up bleary eyed as I rose with her brother and I told her she should lay down and go back to sleep because she looked tired and it was early.   She did!   We had lunch just as our guest arrived and we spent all afternoon and part of the evening outside.    The neighbor boy joined us too.   Mini Moose and I inspired M. to ditch the diapers with S. and she said it had gone quite well using our suggestions.   Yay!

After M. left, and around 3:30 Itty Bitty was becoming increasingly foolish in her interactions and decisions so I took her inside to wind down for a nap on the couch as I nursed her brother. She grabbed a stuffed toy, a blanket, and a throw pillow then curled up beside me to nap.

My jaw about fell off.  It’s not that she hasn’t napped this way before on the couch, it is just that this time I suggested it and it was less of a happenstance pass out and instead a planned snooze.  Mini Moose by the way had many pee opps outdoors and indoors and we didn’t have a miss from 11:30am to 7:30pm!   We missed half a poop after that, but that’s better than a full miss!

I’m liking the new table, though it does perturb me that Daddy Man has has more concern for the cleanliness of the table in 24 hours than in all the daily disaster tornadoes in the 8 years we’ve been together in this house.  Really, dude.   Try vanquishing the laundry beast or hunting the toilet Scum Demon or scaring a few Dust Sprites?   A little water on the table (still dirty and not yet clean from storage), even a 100 year old table, just isn’t that a big deal to me at this point in time.    No, I don’t want to ruin it(I like the table!), but I don’t think it warranted a dark cloud of doom.   It’s a table we are meant to use.

Doesn’t it just make you want to slap him with a wet fish?

Leave a Reply

