Month 20: Mr. Personality – Day 576 to Day 605

Compare to Sister’s Blog:   Month 20:  Miss Personality

month20

Mini Moose prefers the big potty

9/22 Sunday (19 Months) Day 576
Night EC: 3 miss (I was just so exhausted and didn’t rouse fast enough)
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Caught most of both deployments.

Party aftermath tired. football with grandmama and uncle


9/23 Monday Day 577

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Missed it. Not all of it, about 80% caught.

My Mom’s birthday almost forgot.


9/24 Tuesday Day 578

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Mini Moose signaled with the potty sign and said “pupu” and we caught all of it. He was very happy and sang the poopydo song and danced on the toilet. Haha.

I decided to try to do some online writing.


9/25 Wednesday Day 579

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Caught it.

We had story time with miss Lois which had started 9/11 and I totally forgot.
Itty Bitty so needs attention.
Mini Moose is hardcore teething and that pesky lower right molar finally is poking the surface. It is bloody and he keeps trying to rip it out with his fingers poor guy. The others are bulging. All four at the same time. Sheesh.


9/26 Thursday Day 580

Night EC: 1 catch, 2 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: None

Playdate with colleen. I had insomnia last night. been letting itty bitty watch way too much tv in the am.


9/27 Friday Day 581
Story time with Miss Lois.

I am still not sleeping well. I am just spent. We were 15 minutes late to story time. Daddy man took the day off to try and finish off the house. I went there to get my blueberry bushes, a few blue wood hyacinth bulbs, and some herb samples. I had to use a piece of wood because I didn’t have a shovel. They weren’t established yet so easy to get.

I got approved as a level 3 at the online content mill. We’ll see how it goes. I’d like to make a significant amount of extra cash, but for now I think just being able to write for a little recognition is going to be nice. I’ve got some bad comma habits to break though!

I got surprised with a birthday cake from Daddy Man who went out on an Old House errand and on the way back he got me cake and some cards. How lovely!


Happy Birthday to Me!

Happy Birthday to Me!

9/28 Saturday Day 582

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Caught it most of it. Mini Moose still says uh oh and pulls on his pants if he’s started to go and is trying to stop.

Happy 40th Birthday to Me!

I told Daddy Man not to bother with a big gift for me this year since we have other expenses. Instead we went to spend the day with my family and the Littles got to spend time with their grandparents without party distractions. I got a Happy Birthday song and candles in a ring ding. Sometimes its the little things that you’ll remember.

I know, I know I’m 40. I guess I just don’t have the energy to be either mad or relieved about it. I know that I don’t really see myself as 40 even though there are many days I feel like I am surely 80! Mostly I don’t want to think about it. Perhaps in a few months I will do some serious reflecting, but for now I have enough on my plate.


9/29 Sunday Day 583

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Missed it…but…

Mini Moose had a poop accident and both Daddy man and I were distracted. I saw him streak by naked from the waste down holding his training pants in his hand. He was trotting really fast to the bathroom! I ran after him and by the time I actually caught up, he was already shaking the poop out of his pants into the toilet. As I was standing there with a gleeful grin on my face, Mini Moose said, “Pu Pu” and danced for himself. I guess now I will have to watch for errant poops! He got really lucky that it didn’t just fall out before he got to his destination.


9/30 Monday Day 584

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day except for one pee miss with Daddy Man while I was at work.
Poop: Missed half of it on Daddy Man’s watch

Mini Moose has finished yet another mental leap. He understands so much more and can follow simple two part directions. During Itty Bitty’s birthday party guests noted his physical coordination in the bounce house and when setting balls up to kick them in the direction he wanted. More often now though he is starting to give us directions. His favorite word is “Help” which he says as, “Hep Hep Hep” and hands us the object in question such as his sister’s computer, the specific remote to turn on a specific TV, to get into the high chair, to open doors and bottle caps, and to restack a toy he can’t do himself, or to get something off of his tongue. It is also very adorable when he grabs his shoes, walks to the stair where I usually have him sit, plunks his little bottom on it, holds is shoes, and says, “Mama Mama Hep!” When he is finished with eating and he is sitting in the high chair he’ll call, “Mama Mama Heeeee” and hands me his plate. Mama Here is the phrase he uses when he wants to give me things.

He doesn’t have the vocabulary range Itty Bitty did at 19 months and he doesn’t use as many signs, but I think that might be because he doesn’t need more right now because we understand his tones and body language very well. He doesn’t say “no” clearly but he does make a “no” sound like “neh”, shakes his head, and crosses his arms. If he is saying no angrily you know it! Itty Bitty tended to verbalize her wants, and Mini Moose tends to be more physical and direct about it.

Signs: Water (with one finger touched to lips rather than a W)
Nurse/Milk (with finger flicks on two hands rather than open and close)
Potty (shaking of the fist)
More (only sometimes)
No (crossing of arms)
Give Me/I want that (wrist bends as if waving good-by but with more of a serpentine motion)
Tickle Me (holds up his shirt and makes tickle motions with his fingers)

Words: Mama Hep (Mama Help)
Mama Heee (Mama here [take this])
Nay Nay or Nye Nye (for nursing)
Da-Dee (Daddy)
Mahbo (My ball, ball, round object like a ball, bubbles)
“Sister’s Name” (Daddy man has said he has heard him say it)
Hieee / Byeee (Hi and Bye. Daddy man also said he has heard him say Hi There!)
BoPowo (Maximum Bo Power — a catchphrase from his favorite cartoon)

He loves music so I’ve been trying to teach him the sign for it, but I keep forgetting to do it consistently.


10/1 Tuesday day 585

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Caught 75% of it.

I’ve pretty much given up on the house at the moment. And I’ve been working on getting my writing chops back in order for the content mill site. I haven’t made much but I did send in my first article. It was terrifying and exhilerating. I’ve got some comma issues to sort out; I’m very rusty.

Mini Moose tried to take himself to the potty, but hasn’t quite worked out that in addition to going to the right place before you start to pee, you also need time and coordination to pull down your pants. He tried so hard. I looked at his face and I could see his confusion! It was as if he was unsure of whether to be pleased with himself getting to the bathroom all by himself, or irritated that he got uncomfortably wet anyway!


10/2 Wednesday Day 586

Night EC: 2 catch, 1 miss
Day: We had an off morning of about 3 misses then got back on track.
Poop: Daddy Man got blasted by what he described as, “…I don’t understand how someone so small can produce that much poop.” He caught most of it, thankfully.

Our Wednesdays seem to go by so fast with story time in the morning and with my working in the evening.


10/3 Thursday Day 587

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day except for a poop related wee.
Poop: Missed it.

I was distracted today but we still managed to do well. Mini Moose uses the potty sign now usually with time for me to react even if I am distracted. He’s got the holding power and understanding that he is able to wait a short time. The poop though he can’t usually stop if he really has to go. Today was one of those days.


10/4 Friday Day 588

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Several misses in the morning (4 or so)
Poop: Missed it.

It was just a very bad day. I am tired, Mini Moose is still teething hard and is restless at night, and Itty Bitty is just starved for attention. I just want to be able to sit for an hour or two with my thoughts and actually type up an article without being interrupted. I am not talking a simple blog entry that doesn’t require all that much mental attention; I mean an actual article I can get paid for.

I’ve gotten into the habit of putting cartoons on in the morning just so that I can squeeze out an hour of peace. Daddy Man kind of sucks at verbal support of my efforts to write for cash. On the one hand he wants me to make more money, on the other if it isn’t jiving with his idea of how much and with what job — I don’t think he computes it as feasible or important. Makes me want to smack him with a pillow. He doesn’t mean to, but it hurts my feelings.

My relationship with Itty Bitty is being tasked. I am moody and yelling and she is acting out trying to get the attention. Even though I know this, we still have rows and I am mentally frustrated and she is getting her feelings hurts. Parents can be such assholes sometimes!

That’s why after story time I didn’t go back home. I took the kids to the Forever Young playground I like a lot and let them run off the energy. There were kids there that actually wanted to play together and were Itty Bitty’s age so she really enjoyed herself. Mini Moose wandered around trying to climb things he really shouldn’t. Both of them were really spent at the end. I wish I could have relaxed too, but Mini Moose still needs a lot of spotting.


10/5 Saturday Day 589

Night EC: 3 catch
Day: Lots of random misses because both Daddy Man and I were distracted
Poop: Missed it. Twice.

There are days when the communication just goes out the window until it is too late.

I had to take Itty Bitty to her tennis lesson (I am the only one who doesn’t play) because Grandmama is out of town and Daddy Man has a Man Sniffle. Mini Moose is teething, Daddy Man has the sniffles, I am bit a shadow of my former self, and Itty Bitty is a bouncing Tigger. I was trying to clean (because no one else seems to know how to pick up dishes and empty the dishwasher and sink), do laundry, and attempt to organize a few things in the play room. Daddy Man was raking up the ridiculous amount of leaves from a huge Sugar Maple in our side yard. Mini Moose, obviously, was really cranky and looking back it was because he kept wetting his pants!

On the bright side, there was a lot of leaves to jump in and throw around so the Littles both had a lot of fun outside. Mini Moose ended up buck naked from yet another big pee accident, but we did at least catch a couple and wet down a patch of weeds.

We did better in the evening and it was one of the calmer evenings we’ve had since the Littles were so exhausted.


10/6 Sunday Day 590

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: caught 1 missed 1

We checked out a local park and were surprised to see some old friends of hours who have two children the same age as hours. It was their first time there too! They were checking out the area and were hoping to sell their house and move in the next year or two. The universe freaks you out sometimes.


10/7 Monday Day 591

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: missed 50%

Article writing is still going slow but getting better. Unfortunately, we are still in the morning cartoon habit, but I am hoping that once I get better I won’t need so much time.


10/8 Tuesday Day 592

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: missed 50%

Got shoes for the kids, hat for itty Bitty, pajamas and thermal underwear. Two new games for Leappad pick up


10/9 Wednesday Day 593

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: missed but Mini Moose took off his trainers, dashed to the bathroom and shook the solid poop into the toilet, came back out, and handed me his trainers looking very matter-of-fact.


10/10 Thursday Day 594

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: caught with pre-signal!


10/11 Friday Day 595

Night EC: 1 catch 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: 50% miss but Mini Moose signaled to alert and finished on the toilet


10/12 Saturday Day 596

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day except for an “in car on the highway” pee miss.
Poop: half miss with a post-poop potty sign to finish on the toilet.

Happy 90th Birthday Great-Grandma!
We were dry the whole time with several potty opporunties with the exception the car ride to the party, but dry on the way home with only a minor leak just as we took him out to pee on our lawn.

Mini Moose Utterances this week very word-like:

Boo! = for scaring
BoBoo= peek-a-boo


10/13 Sunday Day 597

Night EC: 1 catch 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: Two 50% misses, but with the usual potty sign and finishing on the toilet


10/14 Monday Day 598

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: missed 50% caught rest on toilet


Day 599

10/15 Tuesday

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: missed totally twice. I was distracted.


10/16 Wednesday Day 600

Night EC: 1 catch, 1 miss
Day: Dry all day except for the poo-related pee miss and one distracted morning miss.
Poop: missed


10/17 Thursday Day 601

Night EC: did not pee all night
Day: Dry all day
Poop: caught it!


10/18 Friday Day 602

Night EC: 1 catch 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: catch with pre-signal potty sign


10/19 Saturday Day 603

Night EC: 2 catch
Day: Dry all day
Poop: half miss with potty sign to finish on the toilet.


10/20 Sunday Day 604

Night EC: 1 catch 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: 1 missed, 1 mostly caught on the toilet.


10/21 Monday Day 605

Night EC: 1 catch 1 miss
Day: Dry all day
Poop: 1 mostly caught on the toilet after potty sign

Leave a Reply

