Month 28: You Do Now Me Do – Day 817 to Day 847

Compare to Sister’s Blog:   Month 28:  No Mommy, I Do It Myself

Itty Bitty shows off to Mini Moose.

Itty Bitty shows off to Mini Moose.

5/22 Thursday Day 817 (27 Months)

Night EC: The usual. 1 night, then morning.
Day: No misses.
Poop: 50/50

The months are flying by so quickly!   We are in a pretty good routine and are trying to enjoy the weather as it comes.  I wish I’d made more money this past year as that would make things a bit easier on the budget.  There are small things in the house I’d like to fix, and classes at the local Y that I’d like to enroll the kids in — but we’ll have to be more creative with the freebies for a little while longer.  Maybe next year I can get Itty Bitty into the Montessori school down the street a couple of days a week as a sort of “kindergarten” prep.  I think she’d really enjoy it.     I have been teaching her a lot, of course, as we do daily things.  She’s still keen on school and has been talking about it more and more.  I think she misses story time too, but I’ve been taking it easy on the jeep as it needs to survive another year.


5/23 Friday Day 818

Night EC: Two night pees.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

All I can say about the poop mishaps is…Ewww. How can something so cute produce something so foul! I think I need to up the banana intake a tad.


5/24 Saturday Day 819

Night EC: 1 night pee, then big morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 75% catch!

It is becoming a norm to hear Mini Moose give is potty sound and sign and me going, “Eeek! To the potty…go go go! Poop goes in the potty! Scoot Scoot!” In our efforts to get him to the toilet. It is also funny for me to hear my DH somewhere in the house saying, “WAIT! Wait Wait…oh please wait almost there!”


5/25 Sunday Day 820

Night EC: Missed a night pee, then caught big morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

We haven’t had a miss at night in a long time. It was a big one too. He did drink quite a bit of water and I didn’t awaken and understand what he was trying to tell me in time. He’s started to do the crawl around randomly in his half-sleep like Itty Bitty used to. We rarely night nurse now, so that makes a difference in how he wakes me up now.


5/26 Monday Day 821

Night EC: Missed a night pee, then caught big morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

We are still trying to work out a way to get our poop coordination more compatible. It is so hit and miss that I know that it will just take one thing to get us on that high catch rate track.


5/27 Tuesday Day 822

Night EC: Caught night pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 90% catch

We seem to be back on track with the night pee. I think without the night nursing I’ve had to re-learn his new wiggling/restless signal. I’ve got to be careful now that we aren’t night nursing not to put him off too much during the day. I’ve found that I’ve got some nursing aversion that I think is related not only to stress, but to the shift in my hormones during menstruation. He’s been upset and I’ve been annoyed — I feel bad and then he gets over zealous and leaves suckling tooth marks. Not a good mix. We will get through it, but this time I don’t have a new baby to bring a surge of oxytocin. His face is changing and his suckle is very different, so I don’t think I’m getting the nursing feel-good hormone surges like I used to. I find that I’m having to distract myself while he nurses. I’d like to continue to to at least 3.5 so that he gets the benefits of the unreproducible components in my milk and also to help his jaw development. Itty Bitty still asks to nurse now and then, but she really has forgotten how. Four and a half years was a good run…so I can’t complain! Sometimes I really miss it when I think of how little she was and how much she has changed over the past year.


5/28 Wednesday Day 823

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss. Dagnabbit!


5/29 Thursday Day 824

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.


5/30 Friday Day 825

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Catch!


5/31 Saturday Day 826

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.


6/1 Sunday Day 827

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 50/50


6/2 Monday Day 828

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.


6/3 Tuesday Day 829

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 50/50


6/4 Wednesday Day 830

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.


6/5 Thursday Day 831

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

We have a good night routine going. He wakes up by crawling on my face and annoying me, I wake up and open one eye, I stand him up on the floor at the edge of the bed as I lean over, I grab the pee cup as I pull down his pants, and he pees in it with his eyes closed. I pull his pants up and we resume sleep after jockeying for bed real estate. Itty Bitty, Night Bladder of Steel, remains oblivious to this rustling.


6/6 Friday Day 832

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

I’ve found a blueberry muffin recipe that is easy, tasty, and works equally well with leftover yogurt whey, dry buttermilk, fresh buttermilk, yogurt, or sour cream. It makes ten muffins. Pretty much by the end of the day they are gone. It has a tad more sugar than I think they need, so I’ll have to adjust it each time we make it to find the balance.


6/7 Saturday Day 833

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: 2 pee misses.
Poop: Catch!


6/8 Sunday Day 834

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.


6/9 Monday Day 835

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 50/50


6/10 Tuesday Day 836

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 50/50

I probably should mention that when we are out we continue to have no problems. I can’t remember the last time we had a carseat accident and usually when we are out visiting, as long as I remember to take him before we leave, and upon arrival — we don’t have an accident. It is also very easy to pee him quickly in an old soda bottle or any kind of cup. With Itty Bitty it always had to be a wider container, so peeing him on the fly when I do forget to be proactive is not an issue at all.


Homemade flubber!

Homemade flubber!

6/11 Wednesday Day 837

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

Mini Moose has been leaving the bed early in the morning lately to go and play in the playroom by himself when I dont’ want to get up yet, and Itty Bitty is still alseep. Sometimes he hands me the remote control for me to put on morning cartoons, and other times he just goes to play with cars. He loves cars. Itty Bitty liked cars and she loved trains…but Mini Moose has a love of Vroom Vrooms that goes way beyond her love of choo-choos. DH has added to our collection of tracks and cars and it is borderline getting out of hand. Toy containment to the play room is very crucial!

Mini Moose has also started to sing more. We have caught the melodies for Itsy Bitsy spider with the finger motions and ABC. He also has begun to develop a curiosity for puzzles. He can do chunky puzzles easily, having learned how to turn them and also to match pictures. The 20 piece wood puzzles are too much for him, much to his confusion! And I don’t know how or when, but he has learned color matching. We have a Melissa and Doug flower board with gears and he matches the color. I have even heard him say some of the colors like blue, purple, red, yellow…and I swear I heard orange. It is amazing what they learn all on their own. He is doing pretend play with Itty Bitty. He’s been acting like a dog and cat for a while now, but he also is now trying to engage in her adventure fantasy play with Little Ponies, dinosaurs, stuffies, and other figures. His finger grip on pencils and crayons is much better, and he is delighted that he can get consistent color on paper. Whatever Shishta (Sister) does, Mini Moose must do also. He does like some independent play like Aweddy, Shet, GO! (Ready, Set, Go) with a car tower he has.

Itty Bitty has quadrupled her interest in cutting and free-drawing. She pays attention to details like claws, tails, accessories, hair, and backgrounds. She also has taught herself to cut curves. Every picture has a story. She has been drawing beaches a lot…I guess that’s a hint!

Mini Moose Wordism:
Buppin! = Muffins
Ohguck = Yogurt
FyFy = Super Why (a Cartoon)
Wyco = Wild Kratts (a Cartoon — Itty Bitty used to call them Wild Craps…I miss that.)
SCREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEETCH = I am sure these are a string of Toddler swears aimed directly at his Shishta


6/12 Thursday Day 838

Night EC: Usual 1 night, then morning catch
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: 50/50


6/13 Friday Day 839

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

I think it is funny when Mini Moose takes the phone out of our hands to have nonsenical babble conversation with Grams and Papa, or Grandma. It has that lilting sing-song tone people have when they talk without being actual words. Every once in a while you’ll hear an actual word, and he makes hand gestures, then finally when he is done he will say Bye-bye, See Soo (See you soon), hand you the phone and walk away.


6/14 Saturday Day 840

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

Mini Moose is “reading” Brown Bear Brown bear. He’s been sing-songing in the car when DH and I have been on long drives with the kids and we couldn’t figure it out, until one day it just hit me. He’s reciting Brown Bear Brown Bear! We tend to read that book with a rhythm and that was what Mini Moose was saying with a few distinguishable words here and there. And NOW I know where he picked up color recognition! With Itty Bitty teaching her colors was more deliberate because she was the only one and the first one you get all excited. When you go to the useless baby well visit and they ask you about the first if she knows all her body parts you say YES and thensome! With the second you kind of lose energy and at those same visits you look at them and snort, “He’s the second. I’m sure he knows what his elbow is, but I don’t ask him about it.”

He does know them now, but it was more passive. He learned armpits becase I was playing a game asking him to point to things and armpit was to get him to raise his hand so I could tickle him. He waits for it now, and giggles before I have a chance to attack.


6/15 Sunday Day 841

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Catch!

So, I’ve mentioned before that Mini Moose is not a big “me do myself” for most things, though he does get really mad if you do something for him that he wants to do himself! He’s taken lately to wanting to climb into the carseat himself. He’s been able to climb into the carseats by himself for over a year, but he had not desire too. This is what I meant when i said that he is more than capable of going toilet all by himself, but he prefers assitance. He is also very particular about flushing. “I fwush?” And if you forget and flush instead, oh my he gets mad! I’ve had to do a lot of apologizing. At the same time, I also had to be firm with Mr. Plucky Duck who was flushing on a whim. I admit I yelled at him several times. I HATE it when I lose my cool. I’ve got to really work on that. The stress-yell cycle is not a hamster wheel that I want to be on, but I am aware that I get stuck on it.


6/16 Monday Day 842

Night EC: Yep, the usual. We got this night EC down.
Day: 4 misses. Just one of those days.
Poop: Miss.


6/17 Tuesday Day 843

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.


6/18 Wednesday Day 844

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Catch! Thank goodness because we ran out of bananas the other day. That does not make for good output.


6/19 Thursday Day 845

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: 3 misses.
Poop: Two misses.

I think I’ve been making made faces too often lately, because Mini Moose gave me furrowed brow today and Itty Bitty has been up in my space like she’s trying to crawl back into my uterus. I’m afraid I have NOT been handling stress very well. I’ve been a really grouch, growly, annoyed, curmudgeon of a Mom.


6/20 Friday Day 846

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: 1 pee miss.
Poop: Miss.

My mood has put me off nursing and I’ve got to be especially careful not to accidentally wean him. It’s just been really difficult. Itty Bitty wants to help with everything and she repeats herself five times, I get the bubbling irritation that spills over. I’m having a really hard time balancing my introvert needs with the extroverted needs of children. I don’t get my recharge times alone as often as I think I need, and I am feeling so tired and listless. I’ve got to start packing for our annual out of state trip to visit family. That means I need to get organized and do all the laundry. It’s not been a good couple of weeks.


6/21 Saturday Day 847

Night EC: Same 1 night catch, then morning pee.
Day: No pee misses.
Poop: Miss.

Summer is finally here, and yet it feels like it is already over.

Leave a Reply

